Benefits and Virtues of Surah 55 Ar-Rahman

virtues-benefits-surah-ar-rahman

55. Ar-Rahman

55.1 Muhammad bin Al Munkadir (رضي الله عنه) narrated that:

Jabir (رضي الله عنه) said: “The Messenger of Allah came out to his Companions, and recited Surat Ar-Rahman from its beginning to its end for them, and they were silent. So he said: ‘I recited it to the Jinns on the ‘Night of the Jinns,’ and they had a better response to it than you did. Each time I came to Allah’s saying:

 فبأي آلاء ربكما تكذبان

‘Which of your Lords favor do you deny.’ (55:13)

They said: “We do not deny any of Your favors our Lord! And Yours is praise.”

Jami` at-Tirmidhi Vol. 5, Book 44, Hadith 3291

55.2 Abdullah Ibn Mas’ud (رضي الله عنه) reported

That the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said, ‘Everything has an adornment, and the adornment of the Qur’an is Surah Ar-Rahman’

(Imam Bayhaqi in Shuab Al Imaan)

55.3 It is narrated from Fatima (رضي الله عنها)

That the Prophet of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said: ‘The reciter of Surah Waqiah, Surah Hadeed and Surah Ar-Rahman will be called by the name of resident of the heaven Jannat Al Firdous in worlds and skies.’

(Kanz al-Ummal)

55.4 Kaab (رضي الله عنه) narrates

That the Prophet of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said whoever recited Surah Ar-Rahman has thanked Allah for all his bounties.

55.5 Virtues of Ya Dhal Jalali wal Ikram

تبارك اسم ربك ذي الجلال والإكرام

Blessed is the name of your Lord, Owner of Majesty and Honor (55:78)

55.5.1 It was narrated that Anas bin Malik (رضي الله عنه)  said

“I was sitting with the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) and a man was standing and praying. When he bowed, prostrated and recited the tashahhud, he supplicated, and in his supplication he said:

اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أَسْأَلُكَ بِأَنَّ لَكَ الْحَمْدَ لاَ إِلَهَ إِلاَّ أَنْتَ الْمَنَّانُ بَدِيعُ السَّمَوَاتِ وَالأَرْضِ يَا ذَا الْجَلاَلِ وَالإِكْرَامِ يَا حَىُّ يَا قَيُّومُ إِنِّي أَسْأَلُكَ

O Allah, indeed I ask You since all praise is due to You, there is none worthy of worship but You, the Bestower, the Creator of the heavens and earth, O Possessor of majesty and honor, O Ever-living, O-Eternal, I ask of You.

The Prophet (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said: ‘Do you know what he has supplicated with?’ They said: “Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) and His Messenger know best.” He said: ‘By the One in Whose Hand is my soul, he called upon Allah by His greatest Name, which, if He is called by it, He responds, and if He is asked by it, He gives.'”

Sunan an-Nasa’i 1300

55.5.2 Thauban (رضي الله عنه) reported

Whenever the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) concluded his prayer, he would beg forgiveness from Allah thrice and then would recite:

اللهم أنت السلام ومنك السلام تباركت يا ذا الجلال والإكرام

O Allah, You are the Grantor of security, and security comes from You. You are Blessing, O You Who have majesty and nobility!

(Imam) Al-Awza’i, one of the narrators of this Hadith, was asked: “How forgiveness is to be sought?” He answered: “The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) used to say: ‘Astaghfirullah! Astaghfirullah! (I beseech Allah for forgiveness, I beseech Allah for forgiveness)’.”

Riyad as-Salihin Book 16, Hadith 8

55.5.3 Mu`adh bin Jabal (رضي الله عنه) narrated

That the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) heard a man supplicating, saying: “O Allah! Verily, I ask You for the bounty’s completion (Allāhumma, innī as’aluka tamāman-ni`mah).” So he (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said: “What thing is the bounty’s completion?” He said: “A supplication that I made, that I hope for good by it.” He (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said: “Indeed, part of the bounty’s completion is the entrance into Paradise, and salvation from the Fire.”

And he (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) heard a man while he was saying: “O Possessor of Majesty and Honor (Yā Dhal-Jalāli wal-Ikrām)” So he (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said: “You have been responded to, so ask.” And the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) heard a man while he was saying: “O Allah, indeed, I ask You for patience (Allāhumma, innī as’alukaṣ-ṣabr)” He (ﷺ) said: “You have asked Allah for trial, so ask him for Al-`Āfiyah.”

Jami` at-Tirmidhi 3527

55.5.4 Narrated Zayd ibn Arqam (رضي الله عنه)

I heard the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) saying (the version of Sulayman has: The Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) used to say) after his prayer-

اللَّهُمَّ رَبَّنَا وَرَبَّ كُلِّ شَىْءٍ أَنَا شَهِيدٌ أَنَّكَ أَنْتَ الرَّبُّ وَحْدَكَ لاَ شَرِيكَ لَكَ اللَّهُمَّ رَبَّنَا وَرَبَّ كُلِّ شَىْءٍ أَنَا شَهِيدٌ أَنَّ مُحَمَّدًا عَبْدُكَ وَرَسُولُكَ اللَّهُمَّ رَبَّنَا وَرَبَّ كُلِّ شَىْءٍ أَنَا شَهِيدٌ أَنَّ الْعِبَادَ كُلَّهُمْ إِخْوَةٌ اللَّهُمَّ رَبَّنَا وَرَبَّ كُلِّ شَىْءٍ اجْعَلْنِي مُخْلِصًا لَكَ وَأَهْلِي فِي كُلِّ سَاعَةٍ فِي الدُّنْيَا وَالآخِرَةِ يَا ذَا الْجَلاَلِ وَالإِكْرَامِ اسْمَعْ وَاسْتَجِبِ اللَّهُ أَكْبَرُ الأَكْبَرُ اللَّهُمَّ نُورَ السَّمَوَاتِ وَالأَرْضِ

O Allah, our Lord and Lord of everything, I bear witness that Thou art the Lord alone Who hast no partner; O Allah, Our Lord and Lord of everything, I bear witness that Muhammad is Thy servant and Thy apostle ; O Allah, our Lord and Lord of everything, I bear witness that all the servants are brethren; O Allah, our Lord and Lord of everything make me sincere to Thee, and my family too at every moment, in this world and in the world hereafter, O Possessor of glory and honour, listen to me and answer. Allah is incomparably great. O Allah, Light of the heavens and of the earth”.

The narrator Sulaiman b. Dawud said:

رَبَّ السَّمَوَاتِ وَالأَرْضِ ‏.‏ اللَّهُ أَكْبَرُ الأَكْبَرُ حَسْبِيَ اللَّهُ وَنِعْمَ الْوَكِيلُ اللَّهُ أَكْبَرُ الأَكْبَرُ

“Lord of the heavens and of the earth, Allah is incomparably great. Allah is sufficient for me; and the excellent guardian is He; Allah is incomparably great.

Sunan Abi Dawud 1508

55.5.5 Ibn Abbas (رضي الله عنه) said

“One night, when he (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) exited his Salat, I heard the Messenger of Allah saying:

اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أَسْأَلُكَ رَحْمَةً مِنْ عِنْدِكَ تَهْدِي بِهَا قَلْبِي وَتَجْمَعُ بِهَا أَمْرِي وَتَلُمُّ بِهَا شَعَثِي وَتُصْلِحُ بِهَا غَائِبِي وَتَرْفَعُ بِهَا شَاهِدِي وَتُزَكِّي بِهَا عَمَلِي وَتُلْهِمُنِي بِهَا رَشَدِي وَتَرُدُّ بِهَا أُلْفَتِي وَتَعْصِمُنِي بِهَا مِنْ كُلِّ سُوءٍ اللَّهُمَّ أَعْطِنِي إِيمَانًا وَيَقِينًا لَيْسَ بَعْدَهُ كُفْرٌ وَرَحْمَةً أَنَالُ بِهَا شَرَفَ كَرَامَتِكَ فِي الدُّنْيَا وَالآخِرَةِ اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أَسْأَلُكَ الْفَوْزَ فِي الْعَطَاءِ وَيُرْوَى فِي الْقَضَاءِ وَنُزُلَ الشُّهَدَاءِ وَعَيْشَ السُّعَدَاءِ وَالنَّصْرَ عَلَى الأَعْدَاءِ اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أُنْزِلُ بِكَ حَاجَتِي وَإِنْ قَصَّرَ رَأْيِي وَضَعُفَ عَمَلِي افْتَقَرْتُ إِلَى رَحْمَتِكَ فَأَسْأَلُكَ يَا قَاضِيَ الأُمُورِ وَيَا شَافِيَ الصُّدُورِ كَمَا تُجِيرُ بَيْنَ الْبُحُورِ أَنْ تُجِيرَنِي مِنْ عَذَابِ السَّعِيرِ وَمِنْ دَعْوَةِ الثُّبُورِ وَمِنْ فِتْنَةِ الْقُبُورِ اللَّهُمَّ مَا قَصَّرَ عَنْهُ رَأْيِي وَلَمْ تَبْلُغْهُ نِيَّتِي وَلَمْ تَبْلُغْهُ مَسْأَلَتِي مِنْ خَيْرٍ وَعَدْتَهُ أَحَدًا مِنْ خَلْقِكَ أَوْ خَيْرٍ أَنْتَ مُعْطِيهِ أَحَدًا مِنْ عِبَادِكَ فَإِنِّي أَرْغَبُ إِلَيْكَ فِيهِ وَأَسْأَلُكَهُ بِرَحْمَتِكَ رَبَّ الْعَالَمِينَ اللَّهُمَّ ذَا الْحَبْلِ الشَّدِيدِ وَالأَمْرِ الرَّشِيدِ أَسْأَلُكَ الأَمْنَ يَوْمَ الْوَعِيدِ وَالْجَنَّةَ يَوْمَ الْخُلُودِ مَعَ الْمُقَرَّبِينَ الشُّهُودِ الرُّكَّعِ السُّجُودِ الْمُوفِينَ بِالْعُهُودِ إِنَّكَ رَحِيمٌ وَدُودٌ وَأَنْتَ تَفْعَلُ مَا تُرِيدُ اللَّهُمَّ اجْعَلْنَا هَادِينَ مُهْتَدِينَ غَيْرَ ضَالِّينَ وَلاَ مُضِلِّينَ سِلْمًا لأَوْلِيَائِكَ وَعَدُوًّا لأَعْدَائِكَ نُحِبُّ بِحُبِّكَ مَنْ أَحَبَّكَ وَنُعَادِي بِعَدَاوَتِكَ مَنْ خَالَفَكَ اللَّهُمَّ هَذَا الدُّعَاءُ وَعَلَيْكَ الاِسْتِجَابَةُ وَهَذَا الْجَهْدُ وَعَلَيْكَ التُّكْلاَنُ اللَّهُمَّ اجْعَلْ لِي نُورًا فِي قَبْرِي وَنُورًا فِي قَلْبِي وَنُورًا مِنْ بَيْنِ يَدَىَّ وَنُورًا مِنْ خَلْفِي وَنُورًا عَنْ يَمِينِي وَنُورًا عَنْ شِمَالِي وَنُورًا مِنْ فَوْقِي وَنُورًا مِنْ تَحْتِي وَنُورًا فِي سَمْعِي وَنُورًا فِي بَصَرِي وَنُورًا فِي شَعْرِي وَنُورًا فِي بَشَرِي وَنُورًا فِي لَحْمِي وَنُورًا فِي دَمِي وَنُورًا فِي عِظَامِي اللَّهُمَّ أَعْظِمْ لِي نُورًا وَأَعْطِنِي نُورًا وَاجْعَلْ لِي نُورًا سُبْحَانَ الَّذِي تَعَطَّفَ الْعِزَّ وَقَالَ بِهِ سُبْحَانَ الَّذِي لَبِسَ الْمَجْدَ وَتَكَرَّمَ بِهِ سُبْحَانَ الَّذِي لاَ يَنْبَغِي التَّسْبِيحُ إِلاَّ لَهُ سُبْحَانَ ذِي الْفَضْلِ وَالنِّعَمِ سُبْحَانَ ذِي الْمَجْدِ وَالْكَرَمِ سُبْحَانَ ذِي الْجَلاَلِ وَالإِكْرَامِ

‘O Allah, I ask You of Your mercy, that You guide by it my heart, and gather by it my affair, and bring together that which has been scattered of my affairs, and correct with it that which is hidden from me, and raise by it that which is apparent from me, and purify by it my actions, and inspire me by it with that which contains my guidance, and protect me by it from that which I seek protection, and protect me by it from every evil. O Allah give me faith and certainty after which there is no disbelief, and mercy, by which I may attain the high level of Your generosity in the world and the Hereafter. O Allah, I ask You for success [in that which You grant, and relief] in the Judgment, and the positions of the martyrs, and the provision of the successful, and aid against the enemies. O Allah, I leave to You my need, and my actions are weak, I am in need of Your mercy, so I ask You, O Decider of the affairs, and O Healer of the chests, as You separate me from the punishment of the blazing flame, and from seeking destruction, and from the trial of the graves. O Allah, whatever my opinion has fallen short of, and my intention has not reached it, and my request has not encompassed it, of good that You have promised to anyone from Your creation, or any good You are going to give to any of Your slaves, then indeed, I seek it from You and I ask You for it, by Your mercy, O Lord of the Worlds. O Allah, Possessor of the strong rope, and the guided affair, I ask You for security on the Day of the Threat, and Paradise on the Day of Immortality along with the witnesses, brought-close, who bow and prostrate, who fulfill the covenants, You are Merciful, Loving, and indeed, You do what You wish. O Allah, make us guided guiders and not misguided misguiders, an ally to Your friends, an enemy to Your enemies. We love due to Your love, those who love You, and hate, due to Your enmity those who oppose You. O Allah, this is the supplication (that we are capable of), and it is upon You to respond, and this is the effort (that we are capable of), and upon You is the reliance. O Allah, appoint a light in my heart for me, and a light in my grave, and light in front of me, and light behind me, and light on my right, and light on my left, and light above me, and light below me, and light in my hearing, and light in my vision, and light in my hair, and light in my skin, and light in my flesh, and light in my blood, and light in my bones. O Allah, magnify for me light, and appoint for me a light. Glory is to the One who wears Glory and grants by it. Glory is to the One for Whom glorification is not fitting except for Him, the Possessor of Honor and Bounties, Glory is to the Possessor of Glory and Generosity, Glory is to the Possessor of Majesty and Honor’

Jami` at-Tirmidhi 3419

55.5.6 `Ikrimah, the freed slave of Ibn `Abbas (رضي الله عنهم), narrated that:

Ibn `Abbas said: “We were with the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) when `Ali bin Abi Talib came to him, and he said: ‘May my father and mother be ransomed for you! This Qur’an has suddenly left my heart, and I do not find myself capable of it.’ So the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said to him: ‘O Abul-Hasan! Should I not teach you words that Allah shall benefit you with, and benefit whomever you teach, and they will make whatever you have learned in your chest firm?’ He said: ‘Of course, O Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم), so teach me.’

He (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said: ‘When it is the night of (before) Friday, then if you are able to stand in the last third of the night, then verily it is a witnessed hour, and supplication is answered in it. And my brother Ya`qub (عليه السلام) did say to his sons: I shall seek forgiveness for you from my Lord. He said: “Until the night of Friday comes.” So if you are not able, then stand in the middle of it, and if you are not able then stand in the first of it. And pray four Rak`ah. Recite Fatihatul-Kitab (the Opening of the Book) and Surat Ya-Sin in the first Rak`ah, and Fatihatul-Kitab and Ha-Mim Ad-Dukhan in the second Rak`ah, and Fatihatul-Kitab and Alif Lam Mim Tanzil As-Sajdah in the third Rak`ah, and Fatihatul-Kitab and Tabarak Al-Mufassal in the fourth Rak`ah. So when you have finished with the Tasha-hud, then praise Allah and mention Allah’s greatness in an excellent manner, and send Salat upon me – and be excellent in it – and upon the rest of the Prophets. And seek forgiveness for the believing men and the believing women, and for your brothers who have preceded you in faith. Then say in the end of that:

اللَّهُمَّ ارْحَمْنِي بِتَرْكِ الْمَعَاصِي أَبَدًا مَا أَبْقَيْتَنِي وَارْحَمْنِي أَنْ أَتَكَلَّفَ مَا لاَ يَعْنِينِي وَارْزُقْنِي حُسْنَ النَّظَرِ فِيمَا يُرْضِيكَ عَنِّي اللَّهُمَّ بَدِيعَ السَّمَوَاتِ وَالأَرْضِ ذَا الْجَلاَلِ وَالإِكْرَامِ وَالْعِزَّةِ الَّتِي لاَ تُرَامُ أَسْأَلُكَ يَا اللَّهُ يَا رَحْمَنُ بِجَلاَلِكَ وَنُورِ وَجْهِكَ أَنْ تُلْزِمَ قَلْبِي حِفْظَ كِتَابِكَ كَمَا عَلَّمْتَنِي وَارْزُقْنِي أَنْ أَتْلُوَهُ عَلَى النَّحْوِ الَّذِي يُرْضِيكَ عَنِّي اللَّهُمَّ بَدِيعَ السَّمَوَاتِ وَالأَرْضِ ذَا الْجَلاَلِ وَالإِكْرَامِ وَالْعِزَّةِ الَّتِي لاَ تُرَامُ أَسْأَلُكَ يَا اللَّهُ يَا رَحْمَنُ بِجَلاَلِكَ وَنُورِ وَجْهِكَ أَنْ تُنَوِّرَ بِكِتَابِكَ بَصَرِي وَأَنْ تُطْلِقَ بِهِ لِسَانِي وَأَنْ تُفَرِّجَ بِهِ عَنْ قَلْبِي وَأَنْ تَشْرَحَ بِهِ صَدْرِي وَأَنْ تَغْسِلَ بِهِ بَدَنِي لأَنَّهُ لاَ يُعِينُنِي عَلَى الْحَقِّ غَيْرُكَ وَلاَ يُؤْتِيهِ إِلاَّ أَنْتَ وَلاَ حَوْلَ وَلاَ قُوَّةَ إِلاَّ بِاللَّهِ الْعَلِيِّ الْعَظِيمِ

“O Allah, have mercy on me by abandonment of sins forever, so long as You keep me remaining. And have mercy on me from taking upon myself what does not concern me, and provide me good sight for what will make You pleased with me. O Allah, Originator of the heavens and the earth, Possessor of glory, and generosity, and honor that is not exceeded. I ask you, O Allah, O Rahman, by Your glory and the light of Your Face, to make my heart constant in remembering Your Book as You taught me, and grant me that I recite it in the manner that will make You pleased with me. O Allah, Originator of the heavens and the earth, Possessor of glory, and generosity, and honor that is not exceeded. I ask you, O Allah, O Rahman, by Your glory and the light of Your Face, to enlighten my sight with Your Book, and make my tongue free with it, and to relieve my heart with it, and to expand my chest with it, and to wash my body with it. For indeed, none aids me upon the truth other than You, and none gives it except You, and there is no might or power except by Allah, the High, the Magnificent.

O Abul-Hasan! So do this three Fridays, or five, or seven, you will be answered – by the will of Allah – by the One Who sent me with the Truth, it has not failed a believer once.’” `Abdullah bin `Abbas said: “So, by Allah, `Ali did not wait but five or seven until [`Ali] came to the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) in a gathering similar to that and said: ‘O Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم), indeed I was [a man] in the time that passed, who used to not take except four Ayat or about that much, so when I would recite them to myself they would suddenly depart from me, and today I learn forty Ayat or about that much, and when I recite them to myself, then it is as if the Book of Allah is before my eyes. I used to hear a Hadith and when I would repeat it, it would suddenly depart from me, and today I hear Ahadith, and when I report them, I do not err in a single letter.’ So the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said at that point: ‘A believer, by the Lord of the Ka`bah, O Abul-Hasan.’”

Jami` at-Tirmidhi 3570

55.5.7 Imam Ibn Mardawih (رحمه الله) narrated from Hazrat Anas (رضي الله عنه)

That the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said, “Persist (keep repeating in invoking Allah) with ‘Dhal Jalali wal Ikram’ because these two Names of Allah are from the Intensely Majestic and Supremely Glorious Attributes of Allah.

(Dur Al-Manthur)

55.6 Imam Ibn Abi Ad-Dunya (رحمه الله) in Kitab Ad-Dua and Khateeb in Tarikh narrated from Hassan bin Ali (رضي الله عنه) that

Whoever recited these 20 Aayat, I guarantee that Allah will protect him from every type of tyrant rulers, rebellious devils, harmful beasts and obstinate thieves. (These Aayat are)
Aayat Al-Kursi (2:255), the three Aayat from Surah Al-Aaraf (7:54-56), the first ten Aayat of Surah As-Saaffat (37:1-10), the three verses of surah Ar-Rahman (55:33-35) and the last three Aayat of Surah Al-Hashr (59:22-24)

(Dur al-Manthur)

55.7 Imam Ibn Abi Ad-Dunya (رحمه الله) in Hawatif al-Jan narrated from Hazrat Wathila bin Asqa’ (رضي الله عنه)

That Hajaj bin ‘Alat became a Muslim because once he set out for Makkah with a group of his people and when the night reached, he became fearful and stopped. His companions stood on guard and he began to seek refuge of all the jinns of the valley for himself and his companions to return safely. Then he heard someone saying-

يا معشر الجن والإنس إن استطعتم أن تنفذوا من أقطار السماوات والأرض فانفذوا لا تنفذون إلا بسلطان

O company of jinn and mankind, if you are able to pass beyond the regions of the heavens and the earth, then pass. You will not pass except by authority [from Allah] (55:33)

When he reached Makkah, he asked the Quraysh about it. So they said, “This is in the discourses that Muhammad (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) preaches as it has been revealed to him.”

(Dur al-Manthur)

55.8 Imam Bayhaqi (رحمه الله) narrated from Hazrat Ibn Umar (رضي الله عنه) that the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وعلى آله وسلم) said about the aayah

هل جزاء الإحسان إلا الإحسان

Is the reward for good [anything] but good? (55:60)

Whoever has been blessed with Tawhid, his reward is Paradise.

(Shuayb-ul-Iman 1/371, Dur al-Manthur)

nur-ut-tilawah-virtues-benefits-quran-surahs

One thought on “Benefits and Virtues of Surah 55 Ar-Rahman

Leave a comment